Oversight Committee

The bipartisan Civil Legal Aid Oversight Committee was established by the Legislature to oversee the activities of the Office of Civil Legal Aid; review the performance of the Director of the Office of Civil Legal Aid; and, from time to time, make recommendations to the Supreme Court, the Access to Justice Board, and the Legislature regarding the provision of state-funded civil legal aid.

The Civil Legal Aid Oversight Committee consists of eleven members appointed by the following organizations:

Board for Judicial Administration:

Judge Michael Spearman, Court of Appeals, Div. 1
Judge Greg Tripp, Spokane County District Court Ret.

Washington Supreme Court:

Judge G. Helen Whitener, Pierce County Superior Court
Sarah Augustine, Yakima County
Theodore Grammount, Cowlitz County

Washington State Legislature:

Representative Drew Stokesbary (R-Auburn) (House Republican Caucus)
Representative Laurie Jinkins (D-Tacoma) (House Democratic Caucus)
Senator Jamie Pedersen (D-Seattle) (Senate Democratic Caucus)
Vacant and Awaiting Appointment (Senate Republican Caucus)


Taylor Wonhoff, Office of the Governor’s General Counsel

Washington State Bar Association:

Jennifer Greenlee, Seattle

The Civil Legal Aid Oversight Committee meets four times per year. All meetings are open to the public.
If you have questions about the Civil Legal Aid Oversight Committee, contact:

Judge Michael Spearman, Chair, michael.spearman@courts.wa.gov


James Bamberger, Director, Office of Civil Legal Aid
1112 Quince Street SE
Olympia, WA 98504-41183

Civil Legal Aid Oversight Committee Meeting Materials 3-23-18